I am a Foreigner

 

By Tith Chandara

I walked down the street off from one to another to get to know the town. I was directly walked to the river Rhine. Different from Cambodia, There is quite at 9:30 am. People were just having exercise on the street and the markets were quieted. Photo: Tith Chandara (Self-Timer Captured)

I saw foreigners found it hard to communicate with non-English speakers in my country. I could see their astonished face seems like “How can I get help?”

When you’ve never been out of the country, you never feel that you are a foreigner. You have seen foreigner in your country and say something behind them.

Really!! I’m sure that more or less you will feel being a foreigner and face some problems while living abroad.

When I travel somewhere, I need to hold two maps: the city map and the sub-way route map. People are staring at me and obviously known that I am a foreigner.

What would you do if you understand nothing?

While I went shopping, all the descriptions on the products and any other information in the market are in German. I hardly recognized what it is, but just guessed and bought it for a test.

A new me:

I temporary set up a new life in Germany. It is a completely new life. Living in the dormitory and travel by sub-way every morning is a new habit while in Cambodia we have something to eat in the kitchen and go out anytime by motorbike.

This is a development of life in the development world. Culture shock is not an issue. Having a real problem is an issue. She is my friend came to Bonn/ Germany with me, Pin Manika

At Tannenbusch, Bonn/ Germany, there is a supermarket selling various products and foods. Pin Manika is having a look at some fruit because she could not find Asian food to eat. Photo: Tith Chandara

said she never left her parents for such a long time.  “Now we are a foreigner,” Manika spoke with smile.

Cambodian parents do not let their children living further from them or leave them before married, except for some reasons. This is a culture of dependent that children, mainly daughter have to live with family until they get married.

I live alone in the room taking care of myself and any other problems occurred accidentally.

One life in two different place is like this. I realize how is life. Growing older, I have to depend on myself.

So, now I am a foreigner. I am not in my country where I know what to do and where to go. Here, I have experience new things start from getting to know, test and get it.

About Tith Chandara

Dara has been working as an assistant lecturer and public relations practitioner at the Department of Media and Communication, Royal University of Phnom Penh, Cambodia where he was pursuing his scholarship degree in Media Management. He works inline with media and responsible for, teaching, public relations and outreach. This young Cambodian media practitioner has been working as a freelance reporter for a local English newspaper, the Phnom Penh Post and media related fields. With the talent of his media experiences, internship abroad and his creativities, he had produced media products such as news reports, posters and video documentaries until he was awarded in some international events such as Southeast Asian Student’s Documentary Award, Asia-Pacific Youth Forum, etc. Dara is travel lover who’s always been invited to many international forums and conferences in Europe and Asia for his passion as the second field in environmental protection activities. HIS AFFILIATED POSITIONS - UNEP-TUNZA – South East Asian Youth Environment Network (SEAYEN) - ASEAN+3 Youth Leader for Water/Climate Change - Asia-Pacific Youth Task Force on Rio+20 (APYTF) - Freelance Media Practitioner (Graphic Designer, Photographer, Videographer, Media trainer, Social Media Activist, Interpreter, MC/Host…) Reach him via: tithchandara@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Education, My Articles, Styles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment