Back Home, Back to School, Back to normal life

By Chandara Tith

Sometimes back home from abroad is not always exciting. Now I’m back from a temporary life in Germany to Cambodia to continue my Bachelor degree in the Department of Media and Communication (DMC). This is the final year which I have to write my final thesis to meet the requirement to complete the degree

I just want to share what was so surprised with my class. Unbelievable, for just two months I left to Germany, my friends in Cambodia can work to earn lots of money. Now, among 19 students in class, 18 of us have our own laptop.

For this I can inspire to the future that university students may require a laptop for their study. This is also a result from the development.

An event recovered memory

I went to the 7th International Music festival in Phnom Penh, where there were performances of German classical music; I felt as if I was in Germany again when I sit there and listen to it. The place was full of foreigners mostly German went to enjoy together under the topic of Inspiration-Transformation, Relevance and influence of folklore in Western classical music.

Though the show was different from Cambodian classical performance, I fondled that I like it. A German lecturer asked me that do I like this music because most of the young Cambodian seems to like rock, pop and modern music. I replied that I don’t know myself how I like it now. Before going to Germany, I don’t like this kind of music, but now maybe I got used to the German culture and I used to go to see some performance like this in Germany, the Beethoven festival in Bonn for example. When I listen to it, I stimulated to see my activities I did in Germany. The German Ambassador to the Kingdom of Cambodia, Dr. Wolfgang Moser stated, “We subconsciously draw information in stimulation from the deep source of our culture for everyday life and daily activities.” Accordingly, the show reminded me the temporary life in Germany.

Come back and work on the same theme

While I was working with CARE in Germany, once I worked on an article about Climate Change. When I come back here, I have some ideas about it and make a short video documentary about climate change regarding with plastic bags. “Why plastic bags?” aims to encourage people to reduce using plastic bags and switch to use paper bags and others ways, advocate the government to implement some kind of policies or restrictions to supermarkets or markets or any others firms related in order to reduce giving their customers plastic bags, but paper bags or clothe bags that they can use more than once, encourage NGOs like CARE and involve with them in making such a campaign regarding this issue, and also to response to the climate change circumstances.

These ideas results from what I understand from CARE while I was working there on the topic of Climate Change. It gives me clear perspective of the issue.

I never regret to spending time working with CARE, but appreciate the organization that helps me a lot for my future works. As a result, the project above gives me only one week to make it done, and now I already know clearly where I should go while I used to work on it.

Life here is a very busy life. I don’t even have spare time to enjoy. Whole week include weekend is full of works. I don’t know is it a good activity to be in such a busy life like this.

What do you think about this my dear readers?

About Tith Chandara

Dara has been working as an assistant lecturer and public relations practitioner at the Department of Media and Communication, Royal University of Phnom Penh, Cambodia where he was pursuing his scholarship degree in Media Management. He works inline with media and responsible for, teaching, public relations and outreach. This young Cambodian media practitioner has been working as a freelance reporter for a local English newspaper, the Phnom Penh Post and media related fields. With the talent of his media experiences, internship abroad and his creativities, he had produced media products such as news reports, posters and video documentaries until he was awarded in some international events such as Southeast Asian Student’s Documentary Award, Asia-Pacific Youth Forum, etc. Dara is travel lover who’s always been invited to many international forums and conferences in Europe and Asia for his passion as the second field in environmental protection activities. HIS AFFILIATED POSITIONS - UNEP-TUNZA – South East Asian Youth Environment Network (SEAYEN) - ASEAN+3 Youth Leader for Water/Climate Change - Asia-Pacific Youth Task Force on Rio+20 (APYTF) - Freelance Media Practitioner (Graphic Designer, Photographer, Videographer, Media trainer, Social Media Activist, Interpreter, MC/Host…) Reach him via: tithchandara@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment