What Should I do?

By Tith Chandara 

I want to enjoy my favorite stuffs, but while I am working on it, I feel that it’s not so interesting for me and I can’t entirely enjoy it. 

This year the Department of Media and Communication (DMC) selected me with four other classmates of mine to do internship abroad under the support from the Konrad Adenauer Foundation. Now, I am working for CARE-Germany in the Press office where I like very much and where I wish to work. 

I like Germany. Germany is a very nice place for me to live. Since living here, I have known 

Some of the press officers of CARE are watching my video documentary I shown them. CARE has a very good office and comfortable to work. All the staff are friendly and helpful. I like my work there and the environment there, but how can I find it more interesting to me? Photo: Tith Chandara

 and understood a lot from it. However, I encountered some problems while I am working here. 

How can I enjoy my work? 

“In fact, I really really love working in the press office of CARE-Germany during my summer internship.” I like writing, I like reporting (on the CARE’s blog) and I like the working environment in the office. Everybody in the office is friendly and helpful. I found my improvement, but I don’t enjoy it very much. I don’t know why I got bored with those stuffs sometimes. 

I got a feeling that “I am not good, I’m not good” all the time and very worry of what I am doing while I think my works are not satisfied. I afraid that when I go back to Cambodia, I cannot mark the DMC and worry to be the one destroying the school’s reputation or else I might get negative criticism from my school mates. This feeling always stuck in my mind every minute. 

What I found not interesting to me is the work seems to be again and again. Besides reading and writing in English, I cannot do more. Another thing, I am not yet specialized in the field of my work. I am so young in “Humanitarian works” because I haven’t yet involved in-depth in the field. Most of the time I didn’t know where and what to start. “I have to read and read and read everyday.  “But OK!!! This is the time for me to learn.” 

I am sponsored to intern here in Germany; it’s a long journey, it’s a costly trip; I shouldn’t make my sponsors and people at school disappointed with me. I have to improve my knowledge in the international stage, making myself, my class, my generation, my school and my country marked. 

Be Polite or Serious? 

I don’t know what kind of person I am. I always please people and don’t want to see them so busy because of me and my work. I want to do things by myself first before letting the otheres to help. Am I  polite? 

In Germany, I got many suggestions not to be so polite. Some of my colleague said to me that 

I was offered a chance to an international conference in Bonn where there were many participants from different countries. A man at the conference told me that I am so polite. I should not be so polite and be polite in the right way. Photo: Tith Chandara

 being polite is important; it doesn’t mean that you (me) have to be polite all the time. You (me) have to make clear of what you (me) are thinking of and try to show up and convince people about your (my) ideas. 

OK! Now I am trying to be tougher with what I am doing. I have to throw away some of the politeness and making myself stronger. I should stand to be a strong man. What I should do now is to enjoy working and make my stuff more joyful though I got bored with those stuffs sometimes. 

Feeling of Fail 

“People cannot produce good products with the stuffs they found boring to them, “said I. 

This is a very wonderful chance for me to explore and working in the real working environment abroad. 

But, for now, I feel that I am not yet, good enough to work toward my career. 

I am not alone, few friends talked to me about thier internship, and they discovered the same problem. For that, I know what to do next.

“Personally, I like working with creative stuff and something new.” Every night in Germany, I gather all of my photos in my hard-drive and select some of them to make some designs. It helps me both: to improve my favorite skill in creative design and multimedia and also to make my brain runs and increased my ability to what I prefer for the thesis. 

For this, I will ask not only working on writing and reading, but also help the office in other press works so that I can combine all works together. Try to speak out and change my habit of “being silent” to talk more and more.

Actually, I am not a careless man. (Please give me a feedback if I am) But; sometimes, when people get bored with something we don’t like, they might just let it be so that the result is not good. 

I want my work more joyful and really want to be a good intern for this summer. I’m trying to work hard and work smart every day, but how can I enjoy it more. I don’t want to hear bad criticism when I finish my internship. What should I do?

About Tith Chandara

Dara has been working as an assistant lecturer and public relations practitioner at the Department of Media and Communication, Royal University of Phnom Penh, Cambodia where he was pursuing his scholarship degree in Media Management. He works inline with media and responsible for, teaching, public relations and outreach. This young Cambodian media practitioner has been working as a freelance reporter for a local English newspaper, the Phnom Penh Post and media related fields. With the talent of his media experiences, internship abroad and his creativities, he had produced media products such as news reports, posters and video documentaries until he was awarded in some international events such as Southeast Asian Student’s Documentary Award, Asia-Pacific Youth Forum, etc. Dara is travel lover who’s always been invited to many international forums and conferences in Europe and Asia for his passion as the second field in environmental protection activities. HIS AFFILIATED POSITIONS - UNEP-TUNZA – South East Asian Youth Environment Network (SEAYEN) - ASEAN+3 Youth Leader for Water/Climate Change - Asia-Pacific Youth Task Force on Rio+20 (APYTF) - Freelance Media Practitioner (Graphic Designer, Photographer, Videographer, Media trainer, Social Media Activist, Interpreter, MC/Host…) Reach him via: tithchandara@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Should I do?

  1. Sabine says:

    Dear Dara,

    the thoughts your wrote down here are an excellent proof that your internship is not a failure. You are smart, reflective and eager to learn – this is an excellent starting point for a great learning experience. I remember feeling the same way during my first internships, but believe me: you will notice sooner or later that you do have a lot to contribute.
    And one thing about politeness: You should never stop being polite because that is part of who you are and politeness is never overrated. But what I think you did learn in the last couple of weeks here in Germany is to be a bit more outspoken and sure of yourself. This is also part of a job in communications: stating your arguments and “fighting” for your point of view. So enjoy your exchange at DW and I am looking forward to having you back in the office for the last days and exchanging some more arguments 🙂

  2. Tivea says:

    Hi dude,

    That’s kindda intersting to me. It is really nice to see what you were thinking at that time. It seemed like you didn’t like the work you do and didn’t learn from that, but actually you did like what Sabine mentioned above. I do hope to get a chance to be out there and explore every single thing there to enhance myself and of course I will make the documentary of my life there to share with everyone who also wishes to have such a chance like me.

    This is one of the greatest moment in the life time.

  3. Tith Chandara says:

    Thanks for the comments.

    I wrote something in order that I can express my feeling out and that I can reconcile myself. I learnt this lesson from Germany as well that I have to be strait away, be tough and bring out what I want to say.

    Anyways, congratulation to Tivea and your friends to have passed a place for internship abroad this year. I am so happy to see those who sought my advice get this wonderful opportunity. I’m so proud of you guys.

    Have a great time!

Leave a comment